Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hi All

Apologies to Nicky: I’ve edited the post to break it down into more digestible chunks, made some amendments for the sake of clarity and added some other notes from the class – Christopher.

Well first night back was rather full on.  We were given a long list of things to do and I thought I would post the list to help and make sure I didn’t miss anything myself.  So here we go …

For Monday

Choose a word for a topic you would like to explore in photography, write that word in the middle of the page in your VD and around it write words that you associate with it, see how many you can write.

Last but not least, my personal favourite, the assessment task: find an image that inspires you to be a photographer and give a presentation to the class for 3-5 minutes on why you want to learn more about photography.


Over the Semester

  • Write on a card and stick on the fridge or work station or somewhere you look all the time the basic f stops 1.4 to 45. For those of you who can’t be bothered making up your own, here’s the one I did today.
  • The size of an piece of A4 paper – being 297 x 210 mm;
  • Optional: write on a card and place it where you will see it: I am in the business of visual communication;
  • Start Visual Diary (there is a newsagent on the corner of Swanston and LaTrobe who sell all-sized VD’s at great prices, its on the street side of Melbourne Central);
  • Find and print two copies of a decent colour wheel from the internet, pigment and photographic and stick one copy of each on the first page of your VD and write your name at the top;
  • You should spend 1/2 hour to 1 hour two nights a week on your VD. Size of VD is up to us: A4 is good, A3 is better, choose your own size;
  • Purchase an Artline 70 permanent marker with chisel tip;
  • Learn the pixel dimensions of your camera – not megapixels, but the image size as expressed in pixels e.g.,3888 x 4056 – this will be important when we come to do printing later.

Exercises

Using a variable focal length lens (e.g. a 17-200mm zoom lens), zoom in and take a photo of a family member or friend in tight close-up (framing in between their forehead and chin) and make five pictures, then zoom out, frame the face in the same way above and make five more photos.  Pick the single best from each set, print and stick in your VD.

Look up the words “fulminate” and “nefarious”.

Notes

“Look at the photography, as opposed to the picture.” Examine the technique that went into making the image.

We have a role as image-maker, as photographers we communicate through visual imagery. How do we express an idea (communicate) through the image? What does the picture say? We will not always be around to articulate the ideas expressed in an image.

We are products of our culture. The culture that we exist in informs our perception of the things around us, our view of the world. How would someone from another culture interpret the image?

Learn to look at and analyse your work objectively.

Oh: and welcome to new classmate Kelly!

Well, that’s what I got from last night, please post comments if there is anything else that needs to be added.

Comments on: "Due Monday [Updated]" (17)

  1. Hi Nicky,
    With regards to using the variable lens to take 5 photos of a person’s face (from forehead to chin), I thought it was the other way round. That is, standing from a distance use the “telephoto” or max. zoom on your lens and take the picture, then get closer to the subject and use min. zoom and take the picture.
    Did anyone else have the same interpretation or have I misheard Neil?

  2. Sorry who is hubberhubber?

    You have said exactly the same as what I put, but said it using different words. You should have ten photos in the end, 5 zoom out and 5 zoom in, changing the distance between you and the person.

    Cheers

    Nicky

  3. Hey, but maybe I did get it wrong!

    Cheers

    Nicky

  4. Hi Nicky,
    I think the way you worded it sounded like you use maximum zoom from a close range and minimum zoom from a distance (as opposed to minimum zoom from a close range and maximum zoom from a distance).
    I hope I haven’t confused you.
    Cheers,

    Mark.

  5. Nicky said:

    Oh Mark, it’s you!

    You totally confused me with what you said.

    Cheers

    Nicky

  6. I thought you’d know from my number plate. 😉
    Anyway, I think what Neil was asking for is the stuff written in the brackets in my previous post.
    That is, minimum zoom close range and maximum zoom from a distance.
    Then compare the two effects.

    Mark.

  7. Please correct me if i’m wrong. This is just what I understood from him.

  8. Alright you two!

    Do I have to lock you in a room and make you duke it out in a wading pool full of personal lubricant!?

    I though it was three frames at the maximum focal length, e.g. 300mm and five frames at minimum focal length e.g. 24mm? Choose the best one from each set, print and stick in the visual diary.

  9. Lol! I don’t think we were being nefarious Christopher. I was just seeking clarification so that we were all on the same page and new what to do.
    P.S. Thanks for clearing that up. (the issue, not the lube). 😉

  10. Nicky said:

    That’s exactly what I said, I just used different words!

    Thanks for that Christopher.

  11. Nicky said:

    Just for clarification

    “Zoom Out” refers to your lens zooming out all the way eg 200mm (or its longest point).

    Therefore, “Zoom In” would be closing your lens to 18mm (or its lowest point).

    Cheers

    Nicky

  12. sonotemo said:

    Holy effin shit I am sooo confused right now!!

    That will teach me not to miss class again!

    Can someone please clarify this for me on Saturday 🙂

    Lana

  13. Nicky said:

    Good one Mark, you’ve gone and confused Lana too! :).

    Will explain all on Saturday.

  14. tis ok lana, we will go over it sat!!!

    ps christopher ur rad!!!! lovin the lube

  15. Michael said:

    My only comment is that I can see I’ll need a larger fridge! f-stops, mission statements….

  16. Kelly said:

    My first post – just to say thanks to Christopher for putting together this comprehensive list of everything to do for Mon and over the semester – very through & helpful!

    Cheers,
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

